home 2017, New Zealand, Social Web, Video Democracy and the Internet #electionnz

Democracy and the Internet #electionnz

New Zealand’s general election – hashtag #electionnz —  is scheduled on Saturday, September 23 to determine the membership of the 52nd New Zealand Parliament.

Tuesday, August 22, 6-7pm Auckland time, Internet New Zealand hosts Democracy and the Internet, a free event about the impact the Internet has on elections. The event will also be livestreamed with the link will be available online: internetnz.nz/event/democracy-and-internet

The panel
– Nicola Kean, Producer of The Nation – New Zealand’s weekly politics programme, will discuss political use of the Internet. @TheNationNZ
– Karl Kane is Director of the Design+Democracy Project, a research unit at Massey University’s School of Design. The Project explores the role that design and ‘design thinking’ can play in advancing 21st century citizenship, and the potential of technology to engage citizens with social issues. @designdem
– Ryan Ko, Director, New Zealand Institute for Security and Crime Science, and Head of Cyber Security Lab at the University of Waikato will talk about online voting.

Paul Brislen will MC the event. Paul has a vast history in the tech sector working as a journalist, lobbyist and in a variety of communications and leadership roles. He makes regular appearances in the media – commenting on all things tech.

Drinks and nibbles will be available from 5.30pm with the panel discussion beginning at 6pm.

RSVP for this event here. Please note, you do not need to register for the live video).

Democracy and the Internet
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
AUT City Campus, room WA224, 55 Wellesley Street East, Auckland
https://livestream.com/i-filmservices/DemocracyAndTheInternet?origin=event_published&mixpanel_id=13f87fd8bb655e-08e1836c45f0008-5e50602b-100200-13f87fd8bb73c8&acc_id=19883639&medium=email

Time Conversion:
Auckland’s Tuesday 6pm is …

Adelaide, Tuesday, 330pm
Canberra, Tuesday, 4pm
Honolulu, Monday, 8pm
Las Vegas, Monday, 11pm
London, Tuesday, 7am
Stockholm, Tuesday, 8am

Livestream

Key Links
https://internetnz.nz
https://internetnz.nz/event/democracy-and-internet
@InternetNZ

Questions

  • Will the organizers accept questions from remote participants watching the live video?
  • For those living in New Zealand, what’s not online about New Zealand that you wish were accessible?
  • For those living in New Zealand, what do you recommend to others keen on learning about …
    • New Zealand Internet
    • New Zealand election
    • New Zealand politics

Embedded Tweets

Planeta.com

New Zealand

New Zealand Elections 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *