Photo: Goddard Space Flight Center, Sea Ice The Arctic includes the Arctic Ocean (which overlies the North Pole) and parts of Canada, Greenland (a territory of Denmark), Russia, the United States (Alaska), Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and Finland. Photos 2019 Northern Sustainable Development Forum 2019 Arctic Links Poles Jokkmokk, Sweden Churchill Northern Studies Centre

Bering Strait

Photo: European Space Agency The Bering Strait is a sea passage that separates Russia and Alaska. It is usually covered with sea ice at this time of year – but as this image captured by the Copernicus Sentinel-1 mission on March 7 2019 shows, it is virtually ice-free. The Bering Strait is a narrow passage …