home New Zealand Waitangi


Photo: Tai Ha, Waitangi

Waitangi is a small town and historical landmark where Māori Chiefs and the British Crown signed the Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti o Waitangi) , the founding document of New Zealand (Aotearoa). The name means weeping waters in the Māori language.

Every year on February 6, New Zealand marks the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi with observations throughout the country and in Waitangi itself.

Waitangi Day was first officially commemorated in 1934 and has been a public holiday since 1974.

Treaty of Waitangi
In 1840 Māori chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. This treaty is considered New Zealand’s founding document and established British law in New Zealand, while at the same time guaranteeing Māori authority over their land and culture.

Treaty Grounds
The Treaty Grounds are part of the 506 hectare (1,000 acre) Waitangi National Trust estate.

Transportation — Waitangi is located north of Auckland. Driving time approximately 3 hours.

FYI – The Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlook the Bay of Islands.


  • What would locals like visitors to know about Waitangi?

Embedded Tweets

Elsewhere on the Web
Treaty of Waitangi – NZHistory
Local time


Waitangi Day


New Zealand = Aotearoa

World Indigenous Tourism Summit 2018

02 • February • Februar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.